Support a Species
Giant Panda

Support conservation projects of Giant Panda

Giant panda, with a distinctive black and white coat, is the most iconic national treasure in China. Their daily diet consists almost entirely of various bamboo species. Since bamboo contains very little nutritional value, pandas must eat 12 to 38kg of bamboos every day to meet their energy needs. Giant pandas are generally solitary that each adult has a well-defined home range. Encounters are rare outside the brief mating season.The earthquake on 12 May 2008 affected 83% of China's panda habitats, and over 500 km2 were completely destroyed (that's an area equivalent to 2,630 Victoria Parks in Hong Kong). The breeding centre in Wolong and other field stations were also destroyed, which has compromised patrolling and research activities. In addition, habitat fragmentation by human activities is another major threat to the species.

Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong (OPCFHK) is actively involved in giant pandas conservation. We have established the Giant Panda Rebuilding Fund and funded different conservation projects.

The Giant Panda Rebuilding Fund

OPCFHK conservation effortswere extended from infrastructure rebuilding after earthquake to a three-year donation commitment in July 2017; aiming to support scientific research, capacity building, as well as education projects being carried out in Sanjiang field station under Sichuan Wolong National Nature Reserve.

Funding Giant Panda Conservation Projects

OPCFHK have funded dozens of giant panda conservation projects over the years.

To know more about our conservation projects on giant pandas, please click here.

Please donate to support Giant Panda conservation projects and envision a world where Asian wildlife remains biologically diverse!

Donation

Donations can be made on the Internet via credit card (VISA or MASTER).

支持保育物種
大熊貓

資助大熊貓保育研究

大熊貓是中國獨有物種,獨特的黑白色與稀少數量奠定了其國寶地位。牠們的主要食糧都是竹子,包括竹葉、竹莖和竹筍。由於竹子的養份低,成年大熊貓一天要吃12至38公斤竹子才有足夠的能量去應付日常活動。大熊貓是獨居動物,有自己的活動領域。因此除了交配季節,野生的成年大熊貓之間甚少交流。2008年5月12日的四川大地震影響遍及國內83%的大熊貓棲息地,其中超過500平方公里(相等於2,630個維多利亞公園的面積) 被毀,包括位於臥龍的繁育及研究中心以及多個野外監測站。加上大熊貓的棲息地因人類活動而減少或被分割開,令牠們難以遷往其他竹林尋找食物或交配對象,導致大熊貓的存活更受棲息地破碎化的威脅。

香港海洋公園保育基金(保育基金)近年大力參與大熊貓保育工作,包括撥款資助不同的大熊貓保育項目和成立「大熊貓基地震後重建基金」支持重建及其他後續工作。

大熊貓基地震後重建基金

在2017年7月,保育基金由支持地震後的基礎設施重建延伸到為期三年的捐贈承諾,主要幫助在四川臥龍國家級自然保護區轄下的三江保護站的科學研究、能力建設和教育工作。

撥款資助大熊貓科研項目

保育基金至今已過撥款支持數十項大熊貓保育研究。

想認識了解更多有關大熊貓保育的資訊,請按此

請即捐款支持大熊貓保育工作,攜手保護亞洲野生生態長久繁盛豐饒!

捐款

可透過信用卡(VISA及MASTER)於網上即時捐款。